Peterloo Poets

Poetry Publishers 1972 - 2009




LOGAN, William

Vain Empires



Original Cover Price:



Poems by William Logan


William Logan is the author of three previous collections of poetry: Sad-faced Men (1982), Difficulty (1985), and Sullen Weedy Lakes (1988). His collection of essays and reviews, All the Rage, has been published by the University of Michigan. William Logan has received the Peter I. B. Lavan Younger Poets Award from the Academy of American Poets and the Citation for Excellence in Reviewing from the National Book Critics Circle. He teaches at the University of Florida, where he is Alumini/ae Professor of English.

Praise for William Logan’s Poetry:

“Logan writes like an angel – an elegant, literary angel.”
Donald Hall, Iowa Review

These are the poems in Prospero’s drowned book.”
Richard Howard, The Nation

Among a handful of contemporaries able to command attention with their pure command of technique.”
G. E. Murray, Chicago Tribune Book World

An accomplished and original poet.”
Richard Trillinghast, The New York Times Book Review

He is like the eel in the well – a purifying agent.”
Sven Birkerts, Boston Review



Call the quarter-hour’s regard, the thin
tinkling in the knell of the pocket watch!
Upon the knoll a grim burning patch
of flowers flowers the dissolving pain

of winter, and in strict order farms
the stricken waters from their sluggish flow.
Divine peace of shattered frost, the law
sentences the hedgerow’s scattered psalms,

storms northward down the weedy lanes of corn.
A vanquished light, vanishing late
by streak and veining to its absolute
vocation, repays their mildness with scorn.

Cold images of slate announcing grace,
upon the table an echo of command.
Grave councillors in their burning mend
their blind advice into the rusting sheaves,

but to what consequence? They will reject
these fiery decorations of the calm,
rejoicing the tattoo within the palm,
a room of six by none, or none by six.


Price 7.95 per copy post free (5.30 post free to Associate Members)
Cover design: by Maggie Payette
Publication: SPRING 1998 (76 pages laminated paperback)