Peterloo Poets

Poetry Publishers 1972 - 2009

We are sorry to announce the death of John Whitworth 11.12.1945 to 20.04.19
Many of you will know John was a well loved and respected member of the Peterloo Poets “family” in its day and was a staunch Peterloo Poets supporter over the years.

The funeral will take place at Barham Crematorium Chapel at 12:40pm on Wednesday 22nd May
Barham Crematorium (CT4 6QU) is 9.6 miles (a 20 minute drive) from Canterbury, using the A2 to Dover.
No flowers, please, but any donations would be appreciated, in John’s name, to: Pilgrim’s Hospice, 56 London Road, Canterbury, Kent, CT2 8JA or online at www.pilgrimshospices.org

 Following his editorship of the poetry magazine Phoenix (1958 - 1975), Harry Chambers founded Peterloo Poets in Manchester in 1972.
Peterloo’s first two full collections published in 1976 were Elma Mitchell’s The Poor Man in the Flesh and Edmond Leo Wright’s The Horwich Hennets. Peterloo Poets went on to publish 240 volumes of poetry.

To view the full Peterloo Poets Catalogue
Click here






Music For Brass



Original Cover Price:



Poems by Brian Waltham


Music For Brass is a first collection by retired maritime lawyer, Brian Waltham. Twelve of the poems in this volume appeared in Peterloo Preview 1 (1988) and received the following review notice:

’Waltham’s sardonic, disenchanted sense of absurdity, of opportunities missed, of being in the right place at the wrong middle-aged time, is reminiscent of the later Louis MacNeice. The tone is one of edgy regret, a nervous reflexive humour which refuses to become mellow.’
                                             John Mole, Encounter


Insomniacs Inc.

We’re a quiet lot,
Cunning at exit from a bed, knowing
Blindfold where the furniture is,
Good at doors and floorboards,
Abseiling the stairs, heating like
Night-nurses our four o’clock cuppers.
Cat-burglars in our own rooms, we
Skirt the moonlit sideboard, hear
An ambulance two miles away or a
Bird that’s got the time wrong or the
Maddening snores of the righteous.

A prey to all that is terminal, we
Study the hills and plains of a
Crumb on the kitchen table, we grasp
Einstein, re-fight Waterloo and lose,
Count the next ten breaths, become
Inoperable, lie in the oven-bound coffin,
Decide not to buy a new pair of shoes.

For all this we have nothing to show,
No wounds, nothing to say this side
Of dreaming, that side of waking:
A mild attack of death, of no interest
To the reborn others who grind coffee
And are ready for the day.


Price 7.95 per copy post free (5.30 post free to Associate Members)
Cover drawings: by Elizabeth Stuart Smith. © Elizabeth Stuart Smith 1990. (From a sequence of 11 drawings titled Music for Brass).
Publication: AUTUMN 1990 (64 pages laminated paperback)